Multimodal Dig

Listed below are the multimodal texts that I found in my backpack:

  1. Technical Editing (Fifth Edition) by Carolyn D. Rude and Angela Eaton (V,S,L)
  2. Vera Bradley Student Agenda (V,S,L)
  3. Notebook (V,S,L)
  4. Water bottle (V,S,L)
  5. Wallet (V,S,L)
  6. Keys (V,S,L)

On my phone:

  1. Facebook (V,A,G,S,L)
  2. Instagram (V,A,G,S,L)
  3. Pinterest (V,G,S,L)
  4. Snapchat (V,A,G,S,L)
  5. Pandora Radio (V,A,S,L)

On my laptop:

  1. Microsoft Office (V,S,L)
  2. iPhoto (V,S,L)
  3. iTunes (V,A,S,L)

photo-35

Only a few of my texts used all five modes of communication: specifically the apps Facebook, Instagram and Snapchat. The other texts I found all shared a visual element and often a spacial and linguistic element in some sense as well. There weren’t many of my texts that were outstandingly different, aside from the water bottle and the wallet (and maybe the keys) but they all still had at least a linguistic, visual and spacial element to them. The three items all had written words, deliberate physical arrangement, and clear visual elements. Even though the items themselves might seem very different, I discovered that surprisingly almost every item overlapped with a seemingly opposite item in at least one mode of communication.

Leave a comment